top of page

Time Line

A Brief History

  • 1983 Department is formed. 

  • 1986 Robert K. Morris becomes Chief of Police later retiring in 2004.

  • 1997 The Police Department moves to its current location.

  • 1998 Officers start using laptops in their patrol vehicles.

  • 1999 In-car cameras are installed in patrol vehicles.

  • 2004 David R. Ward is promoted to Chief of Police until his retirement in 2012.

  • 2013 Joel C. Johnson is promoted to Chief of Police until his retirement in 2023.

  • 2023 Michael E. Palkovics is hired as the new Chief of Police for the Town of Kitty Hawk.

The Kitty Hawk Police Department was formed in 1983, after the incorporation of the Town of Kitty Hawk in 1981. The Department began with two Police Officers, Frankie Hemilright and Eugene McLawhorn. The Department showed little growth until 1986, when Robert K. Morris became Chief of Police. Today the department is led by Chief Michael E. Palkovics, the department's fifth Chief of Police. 

The Kitty Hawk Police Department is a full service law enforcement agency employing sixteen sworn employees, and two non-sworn employees. All members of the department strive to provide the highest quality of service to the residents and visitors of the community. The Town of Kitty Hawk has approximately 3,676 year round residents. That number increases to around 25,000 during the summer months with the influx of visitors and vacationers.


Whether you are visiting our area or are a full time resident, and find yourself in need of assistance, please feel free to contact us. Our administrative office hours are from 8:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday except for major holidays  and can be reached at (252) 261-3895.   In the event you need to speak with an officer, and the administrative office is closed, you can reach an officer by calling Dare Central Communications at (252) 473-3444. In the event of an emergency, dial 911.

983 W. Kitty Hawk Road
2016 Dodge Charger Winner 016_edited.jpg
722 W. Kitty Hawk Road
KH Police 1990's .jpg

T.S. Garrett, Sr. - F. D. Hemilright - E. Mclawhorn - T.D. Cartwright  Chief R. K. Morris - H. Parlette - D.S. Martin  

H.A. Heimingway, III - W.B. Griffin - T.B. Buchanan


Dave Cowan - Frankie Hemilright - Eugene Mclawhorn


Frankie Hemilright - Eugene Mclawhorn - Robert K. Morris -

Ed Johnson - Bill Ward

bottom of page